53rd European Team Championships

Budapest, Hungary • 16 - 25 June 2016


Photo Gallery - Videos
Registration - Participants

 • Format

All 3 Series will be played as a single complete round robin. The number of boards played in each match will be determined and published when the number of participants is known.

The Open Series will be played over 10 days, and the Women’s Championship and Seniors Championship will be played over 7 days.

For the Women Pairs, It is anticipated that the Championship will consist of two stages: a Qualifying Stage, and a Final Stage (Final A and Final B). However, should the number of participants permit, there will be a one stage all-play-all (Endless Howell) competition. Details of the competitions may be changed according to the final registration of participants.

 • Programme

Dates Event
June 15 Open Teams Registration and Captains' Meeting
June 16 - June 18 Women Pairs
June 16 - June 25 Open Teams
June 19 - June 25 Women and Senior Teams
June 24 EBL General Assembly

 • Conditions of Contest

Attention is drawn to the Competitor's Commitment Form that must be signed by each participant. Details and a copy of the form can be found in the links below.

 • Entries - Registration

Entries to the events should be submitted electronically via the EBL Website (not by email).

Each member NBO, being up to date with the payment of its dues (including the 2016 dues) to the E.B.L. is authorized to enter one team in the Open Series, one team in the Women's Series and one team in the Senior Series of the Championships. Countries must have paid the entry fee and be up to date with the payment of the dues to the EBL before they can participate in the Championships.

Each participating member NBO must play against all other participating member NBOs. Entry and subsequent refusal to play will result in disqualification.

Every proposed player must, along with other criteria, satisfy the EBL Eligibility rules and each team composition submitted by a NBO will be subject to the approval of the Credentials Committee.

To participate in the senior series a player must have been born before the 1st January 1957.

 • Entry Fees

for the events are to be paid by bank transfer, until 2nd May 2016, to

Credit Suisse AG
Rue de Lion d'Or 5-7
CH-1002 Lausanne-Switzerland
IBAN: CH88 0483 5135 2558 8200 0
(to be mentioned)

Event Entry fees

Open Teams (per team) € 3500
Women/Senior Teams (per team) € 3250
Women Pairs (per pair) € 300

A discount will be given to countries who did not participate in the last three EBL Team Championships held in Ostend 2010, Dublin 2012 and Opatija 2014: for these teams the entry fees are € 2,500 for the Open and € 2,000 both for the Women and the Senior Teams.

return to top of page