55th European Team Championships

Madeira, Portugal • 17 - 27 June 2020


Photo Gallery - Videos
Registration - Participants

 • Format

The 55th European National Team Championships ("the Championships") are to be played under the auspices of the European Bridge League (the “EBL") in the Casino da Madeira and Savoy Hotel in Funchal, Madeira in June 2020. The Championships consist of four Series: Open (commencing on 17 June) as well as Women’s, Seniors’ and Mixed (commencing on Sunday 21 June). All events will end not later than Saturday 27 June 2020.

All four Championships will be played as a single complete round robin. The number of boards played in each match will be determined and published when the number of participants is known.
The Open Championship will be played over 11 days, and the Women’s, Seniors’, and Mixed Championships will be played over 7 days.

The 11th European Women’s Pairs Championship ("the WP Championship") and the 9th European Seniors’ Pairs Championship (“the SP Championship”) are national pairs competitions and are to be played under the auspices of the European Bridge League in the Hotel Savoy in Funchal, Madeira, Portugal commencing on Wednesday 17 June 2020 and ending not later than Saturday 20 June 2020.

It is anticipated that each Pairs Championship will consist of two stages: a Qualifying Stage, and a Final Stage (Final A and Final B). However, should the number of participants permit, there will be a one stage all-play-all (Endless Howell) competition. Details of the competitions may be changed according to the final registration of participants.

 • Programme

Event Provisional Schedule
Open Teams registration Women & Seniors Pairs registration Tuesday 16th June
Open Teams Captains meeting Tuesday 16th June
Women & Seniors National Pairs Wednesday 17th to Saturday 20th June
Open Teams round-robin Wednesday 17th to Saturday 27th June
Women/Seniors/Mixed Teams registration Saturday 20th June
Women/Seniors/Mixed Captains meeting Saturday 20th June
Opening Ceremony (all series) Saturday 20th June at 19:30
Women/Seniors/Mixed Teams round-robin Sunday 21th to Saturday 27th June
Prize-Giving & Closing Ceremony Saturday 27th June at 19:30

 • Conditions of Contest

Attention is drawn to the Competitor's Commitment Form that must be signed by each participant. Details and a copy of the form can be found in the links below.

 • Entries - Registration

Entries to the team events should be submitted electronically via the EBL Website (not by email) latest by the 15th of April, 2020. Payment of Entry Fees (see below) should be done latest by the 15th of May 2020. Player names should be registered latest by the 24th of May 2020 and all System Cards should be submitted latest by the 24th of May 2020, to anna@ecats.com.

Entries to the Pairs Events should be submitted electronically via the EBL website (not by email) latest by the 3rd of June 2020, which is also the deadline for the payment of the Entry Fees.

Each EBL member NBO is authorised to enter one Team in each of the Team Series. Each EBL member NBO is authorised to enter multiple Pairs in each of the Pairs Series.

NBOs must have paid the entry fee and be up to date with the payment of the annual dues (including for 2020) to the EBL before they can participate in the Championships. Each participant must play against all other participants which they are scheduled to meet. Entry and subsequent refusal to play will result in disqualification, as well as possible further sanctions against the NBO in question.

Every participant must, along with other criteria, satisfy the EBL Eligibility rules and be accepted for invitation by the EBL Credentials Committee.

To participate in the senior series a player must have been born in 1958 or earlier.

 • Entry Fees

Event Entry fees

Open Teams (per team) € 3500
Women/Senior/Mixed Teams (per team) € 2500
Women/Senior Pairs (per pair) € 300

A discount will be given to NBOs that did not participate in either of the last two EBL Team Championships held in Budapest 2016 and Ostend 2018. This discount applies separately for each Series. Such discounted Fees are € 1,750 for the Open Teams and € 1,250 for the Women & Senior Teams. In addition to the above, any NBO sending teams to all four Series will receive an additional 10% discount.

Entry Fees shall be paid by bank transfer to:

Credit Suisse AG
Rue de Lion d'Or 5-7
CH-1002 Lausanne-Switzerland
IBAN: CH88 0483 5135 2558 8200 0

Important Note:

The payment instructions must include, as reference, the Registration Code you received by email when the registration was accepted. If you do not have that code you must state as reference the NBO name and Series (for Teams) respectively both player’s names (for Pairs). N.B.: If a payment is a lumpsum including fees for several Series/Pairs, all separate Registration Codes must be mentioned.

return to top of page