European Bridge League

Administering the Mind Sport BRIDGE in Europe

The first European Teams Championships (ETC) were held in 1932, as the first international championships to be established in Europe. They were conducted under the auspices of the International Bridge League (IBL), the forerunner of the World Bridge Federation, which organised all pre-war European Championships. The ETC were halted during the war and resumed in 1948 under the auspices of the European Bridge League (EBL), which had replaced the IBL in the meantime.

Originally established as an annual event for national teams in one category only (Open, i.e. allowing teams of any gender/age composition), a Women category was added in 1935. In 1960 it was decided not to hold the ETC in leap years in order not to compete with the World Team Olympiad. In 1975 the competition became biennial, held every odd-numbered year. In 1995 a Seniors category was added. In 2002 the ETC were moved to even-numbered years to make room for a new event, the European Open Championships.

The ETC also act as the qualifier for the World Team Championships, whereby the top teams in the open, women and seniors categories qualify to represent Europe in the Bermuda Bowl, Venice Cup and Senior Bowl respectively.

Click on the Event number below for the tournament website, on the Venue for final rankings and on the Winner for the team members.

Year Event Venue Winners
Open Women Seniors
2018 54 Ostend, Belgium NORWAY  POLAND  FRANCE 
2016 53 Budapest, Hungary FRANCE  ENGLAND  ISRAEL 
2014 52 Opatija, Croatia   NETHERLANDS  ENGLAND 
2012 51 Dublin, Ireland MONACO  ENGLAND  FRANCE 
2010 50 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  FRANCE  POLAND 
2008 49 Pau, France NORWAY  FRANCE  TURKEY 
2006 48 Warsaw, Poland ITALY  FRANCE  GERMANY 
2004 47 Malmo, Sweden ITALY  SWEDEN  DENMARK 
2002 46 Salsomaggiore, Italy ITALY  NETHERLANDS  FRANCE 
2001 45 Tenerife, Spain ITALY  ENGLAND  POLAND 1 
1999 44 Malta, Malta ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE 1 
1997 43 Montecatini, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE 
1995 42 Vilamoura, Portugal ITALY  FRANCE  POLAND 
1993 41 Menton, France POLAND  SWEDEN   
1991 40 Killarney, Ireland GREAT BRITAIN  AUSTRIA   
1989 39 Turku, Finland POLAND  GERMANY   
1987 38 Brighton, England SWEDEN  FRANCE   
1985 37 Salsomaggiore, Italy AUSTRIA  FRANCE   
1983 36 Wiesbaden, Germany FRANCE  FRANCE   
1981 35 Birmingham, England POLAND  GREAT BRITAIN   
1979 34 Lausanne, Switzerland ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1977 33 Elsinore, Denmark SWEDEN  ITALY   
1975 32 Brighton, England ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1974 31 Herzliya, Israel FRANCE  ITALY   
1973 30 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  ITALY   
1971 29 Athens, Greece ITALY  ITALY   
1970 28 Estoril, Portugal FRANCE  ITALY   
1969 27 Oslo, Norway ITALY  FRANCE   
1967 26 Dublin, Ireland ITALY  SWEDEN   
1966 25 Warsaw, Poland FRANCE  GREAT BRITAIN   
1965 24 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  FRANCE   
1963 23 Baden-Baden, Germany GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1962 22 Beirut, Lebanon FRANCE  SWEDEN   
1961 21 Torquay, England GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1959 20 Palermo, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1958 19 Oslo, Norway ITALY  DENMARK   
1957 18 Vienna, Austria ITALY  DENMARK   
1956 17 Stockholm, Sweden ITALY  FRANCE   
1955 16 Amsterdam, Netherlands FRANCE  DENMARK   
1954 15 Montreaux, Switzerland GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE   
1953 14 Helsinki, Finland FRANCE  FRANCE   
1952 13 DunLaoghaire, Ireland SWEDEN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1951 12 Venice, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1950 11 Brighton, England GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1949 10 Paris, France GREAT BRITAIN  DENMARK   
1948 9 Copenhagen, Denmark GREAT BRITAIN  DENMARK   
1939 8 The Hague, Netherlands SWEDEN  FRANCE   
1938 7 Oslo, Norway HUNGARY  DENMARK   
1937 6 Budapest, Hungary AUSTRIA  AUSTRIA   
1936 5 Stockholm, Sweden AUSTRIA  AUSTRIA   
1935 4 Brussels, Belgium FRANCE  AUSTRIA   
1934 3 Vienna, Austria HUNGARY     
1933 2 London, England AUSTRIA     
1932 1 Scheveningen, Netherlands AUSTRIA