> Team Championships' List

European Championships

The European Team Championships address all European countries who are invited to participate with their representative (national) team.

The format of the championships is a round-robin, whereby each participating team meets every other team in a head-to-head match. There are no qualifying and final stages; at the end of the round-robin, the team with most points is the tournament winner, and the country it represents is crowned 'European Champion' for the particular year.

The European Team Championships were the first international competition to be established in Europe. It was launched in 1932 in Scheveningen, The Netherlands, and was conducted under the auspices of the International Bridge League (IBL), the forerunner of the World Bridge Federation. The IBF organized all prewar European championships. The competition ceased during the war, and was re-established in 1948, under the European Bridge League (EBL) which had replaced IBL in the mean time. All European championships ever since have been conducted by the EBL.

Originally established as an annual event played in one series only (open, i.e. allowing teams of any composition), the European Team Championships had a women series added in 1935. To support the World Team Olympiad, in 1960 it was decided not to hold European Team Championships in the leap years. In 1975, the competition became biennial, held every odd-numbered year. Later on (1995), a senior series was introduced, for players of 55 years or older. Finally, the European Team Championship was moved to even-numbered years as from 2002, to make room for the new competition, the European Open Championships.

The European Team Championships also act as the qualifier for the World (Zonal) Team Championships (Bermuda Bowl and Venice Cup), whereby the top teams in the open and women series qualify to represent Europe in the interzonal team competition.


Year Event Venue Winners
Open Women Seniors
2022 55 Madeira, Portugal NETHERLANDS  POLAND  POLAND 
2018 54 Ostend, Belgium NORWAY  POLAND  FRANCE 
2016 53 Budapest, Hungary FRANCE  ENGLAND  ISRAEL 
2014 52 Opatija, Croatia   NETHERLANDS  ENGLAND 
2012 51 Dublin, Ireland MONACO  ENGLAND  FRANCE 
2010 50 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  FRANCE  POLAND 
2008 49 Pau, France NORWAY  FRANCE  TURKEY 
2006 48 Warsaw, Poland ITALY  FRANCE  GERMANY 
2004 47 Malmo, Sweden ITALY  SWEDEN  DENMARK 
2002 46 Salsomaggiore, Italy ITALY  NETHERLANDS  FRANCE 
2001 45 Tenerife, Spain ITALY  ENGLAND  POLAND 1 
1999 44 Malta, Malta ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE 1 
1997 43 Montecatini, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE 
1995 42 Vilamoura, Portugal ITALY  FRANCE  POLAND 
1993 41 Menton, France POLAND  SWEDEN   
1991 40 Killarney, Ireland GREAT BRITAIN  AUSTRIA   
1989 39 Turku, Finland POLAND  GERMANY   
1987 38 Brighton, England SWEDEN  FRANCE   
1985 37 Salsomaggiore, Italy AUSTRIA  FRANCE   
1983 36 Wiesbaden, Germany FRANCE  FRANCE   
1981 35 Birmingham, England POLAND  GREAT BRITAIN   
1979 34 Lausanne, Switzerland ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1977 33 Elsinore, Denmark SWEDEN  ITALY   
1975 32 Brighton, England ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1974 31 Herzliya, Israel FRANCE  ITALY   
1973 30 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  ITALY   
1971 29 Athens, Greece ITALY  ITALY   
1970 28 Estoril, Portugal FRANCE  ITALY   
1969 27 Oslo, Norway ITALY  FRANCE   
1967 26 Dublin, Ireland ITALY  SWEDEN   
1966 25 Warsaw, Poland FRANCE  GREAT BRITAIN   
1965 24 Ostend, Belgium ITALY  FRANCE   
1963 23 Baden-Baden, Germany GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1962 22 Beirut, Lebanon FRANCE  SWEDEN   
1961 21 Torquay, England GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1959 20 Palermo, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1958 19 Oslo, Norway ITALY  DENMARK   
1957 18 Vienna, Austria ITALY  DENMARK   
1956 17 Stockholm, Sweden ITALY  FRANCE   
1955 16 Amsterdam, Netherlands FRANCE  DENMARK   
1954 15 Montreaux, Switzerland GREAT BRITAIN  FRANCE   
1953 14 Helsinki, Finland FRANCE  FRANCE   
1952 13 DunLaoghaire, Ireland SWEDEN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1951 12 Venice, Italy ITALY  GREAT BRITAIN   
1950 11 Brighton, England GREAT BRITAIN  GREAT BRITAIN   
1949 10 Paris, France GREAT BRITAIN  DENMARK   
1948 9 Copenhagen, Denmark GREAT BRITAIN  DENMARK   
1939 8 The Hague, Netherlands SWEDEN  FRANCE   
1938 7 Oslo, Norway HUNGARY  DENMARK   
1937 6 Budapest, Hungary AUSTRIA  AUSTRIA   
1936 5 Stockholm, Sweden AUSTRIA  AUSTRIA   
1935 4 Brussels, Belgium FRANCE  AUSTRIA   
1934 3 Vienna, Austria HUNGARY     
1933 2 London, England AUSTRIA     
1932 1 Scheveningen, Netherlands AUSTRIA     

Click on:
  • 'Event' number to visit the championships' official site (available as from 1997)
• 'Venue', for results and other options
• Team name, for team members
Return to main page of European Championships
Return to top of page