To Championships main page

Six in a Row for Italy

  They won in Vilamoura, Montecatini, Malta, Tenerife and Salsomaggiore, and now by winning in Malmö. ITALY, represented by Norberto Bocchi, Giorgio Duboin, Fulvio Fantoni, Claudio, Nunes, Lorenzo Lauria, Alfredo Versace, Maria Teresea Lavazza, NPC and Massimo Ortensi, Coach, broke its own record by wining the European Open Team Championship for the sixth time in a row, Italy’s eighteenth victory overall.

It is Lorenzo Lauria’s sixth victory, and he joins Kenneth Konstam in second place on the all time list, four victories behind the legendary Giorgio Belladonna.

Norberto Bocchi & Giorgio Duboin becomes the first pair to achieve five consecutive wins, while Fulvio Fantoni & Claudio, Nunes are experiencing the thrill of their first.

SWEDEN, Johan Sylvan, PO Sundelin, Peter Fredin, Magnus Lindqvist, Peter Bertheau, Fredrik Nyström Jan Kamras, NPC, Per-Ola Cullin & Tobias Törnqvist, Assistants, are the runners-up.

POLAND, Cezary Balicki, Adam Zmudzinski, Apolinary Kowalski, Piotr Tuszynski, Bartosz Churmski, Mariusz Puczynski, Wojtek Siwiec, NPC, just pipped Russia for the last place on the podium.

England came back from a disastrous start to earn a first ever appearance in the Bermuda Bowl, leaving the Netherlands in limbo.





Congratulations to the new European Women's Champions, SWEDEN, represented by Kathrine Bertheau, Catarina Midskog, Pia Andersson, Linda Långström, Catharina Forsberg, Maria Grönkvist, with Anna Järup, NPC and Bror Bjerner, Coach.

It is Sweden's fourth win, following victories in Beirut, 1962, Dublin, 1967, and Menton 1993, where Linda Långström & Catarina Midskog were members of the winning team.

The silver medals are in the hands of the Netherlands, Carla Arnolds, Bep Vriend, Femke Hoogweg, Wietske van Zwol, Jet Pasman, Anneke Simons, with Ed Franken, NPC and Chris Niemeijer. France, Véronique Bessis, Bénédicte Cronier, Catherine D'Ovidio, Daniéle Gaviard-Allouche, Christine Lustin, Sylvie Willard, NPC Gérard Tissot, collect the bronze.




The Nils Jensen European Senior Teams Championship goes to DENMARK, Georg Norris, Steen Møller, Peter Lund, Kirsten Jens Auken, Dahl Flemming PC, they are joined on the podium by Poland, Jacek Korpetta, Janusz Radecki, Kazimierz Omernik, Krzysztof Sikorski, Janusz c. Nowak NPC, Wlodek Stobiecki Coach, and France, Paul Chemla, José Damiani, Albert Faigenbaum, Christian Mari, Jean-Louis Stoppa, François Stretz, Yves Aubry NPC.

Germany takes the fourth Senior Bowl spot in Estoril.

Israel were convincing winners of Senior Teams B Final.

Swan Games  


SWAN GAMES was broadcast live from the tournament site in Malmo, throughout the championships.

Innovative Vugraph presentations of selected matches with live voice commentary, and running scores of all matches in real time were available free of charge.

For detailed information click on the SWAN GAMES graphic, or visit

  Return to top of page Close Window  
European Bridge League website Swedish Bridge Federation website