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Question 1. 

Players called the TD in board 2 after the cards were counted: 14-13-13-13. The TD found a surplus card, 
removed it, and the players started bidding. Then the TD started looking for where the missing card came 
from. After a short investigation, it turned out to be a card from board 1. The TD reviewed a video recording 
and, indeed, the previous board had been played 13-13-13-12, declarer played the board with 12 cards. 

According to Law 14, there may have been revokes. Which Law does apply? A. 64A       B. 64C 

 

Question 2. 
N/NS  Q 8 6 3 Pairs. 

W N E S 
 1 pass 1 

1 pass pass dbl 
pass 1NT 2 …pass 
pass 3 All pass  

3, 8 tricks, -100. 

EW complained about 3 over the slow pass. 
South agreed that he took around 40 seconds. 

 

  3 2  
  7 4  
  A K Q 9 8  
 K J 10 9 2 N  7 5 4 
 K 10 8 W               E  A Q 7 4 
 A Q J 9  10 6 5 
 3 S  J 10 6 
  A  
  J 9 6 5  
  K 8 3 2  
  7 5 4 2  

          

The TD polled players with North’s 
hand. Half of them bid 3 and half 
passed. 
 
He also inspected all results in the 
board (on the right). 
 
 
 
 
 

 NS EW C D L T NS EW 
 26 3 3 W A 7 100  
 2 4 3x W K 8 100  
 1 5 3 N 6 8  100 
 6 25 2 E 4 8  110 
 7 24 2 W A 7 50  
 23 8 2 W A 6 100  
 9 22 3 W A 7 100  
 21 10 4x N 6 8  500 
 11 20 3 W K 6 150  
 12 19 4 W K 6 200  
 13 18 4 N 4 8  200 
 14 17 4 N 4 8  200 
 15 16 3 W A 8 50  
         

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands, no infraction 
B. Score stands, no damage 
C. Weighted score, ¼ for 2W 8 tricks, ⅜ for 2W 7 tricks, ⅜ for 2W 6 tricks 
D. Adjusted score, 2W 8 tricks 
E. 60%/40% 
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Question 3. 
  9 6  South plays 3NT and took 8 tricks. 

In 3-card ending (on the left) declarer plays 10 from 
dummy, 2 from East and 5 from the hand. West seeing 
two spades on the table “takes” the trick with A (revoke) 
and claims showing good Q and K. 

How many tricks will declarer take? 
A. 11 tricks B. 10 tricks  C. 9 tricks  D. 8 tricks 

  10  
  --  
  --  
 A N  K 4 2 
 K W               E  -- 
 Q  -- 
 -- S  -- 
  5  
  --  
  7  
  6  

Question 4. 
  --  South is declarer in no trump contract, East on lead. 

East plays Q (West revokes) and 2 to declarer’s 9 
(West revokes again). 
Declarer takes J and loses two diamonds. TD! 
 
How many tricks will the declarer take in this ending? 
 
A. 5     B. 4     C. 3     D. 2     E. 1 

  4  
  --  
  10 9 8 7  
 -- N  -- 
 10 W               E  Q 3 2 
 --  Q J 
 5 4 3 2 S  -- 
  --  
  J 9 8  
  3 2  
  --  

Question 5. 
E/NS  J 3  W N E S 

  2 2NT 
3 3NT All pass  

 
2 – multi 
3 – not alerted on any side of the screen. However, West 
was asked about the meaning and explained: “Not agreed, 
either own suit or pass/correct”. East didn’t alert because 
they didn’t discuss this sequence. 

After a spade lead, declarer took 1 trick, -800. 

North called the TD because 3 was not alerted and he 
assumed it was natural, otherwise, he would have bid 4. 

Screens  Q 6  
  K 7 6 5 4 2  
  J 6 2  
 K 5 4 N  A 10 8 7 6 2 
 K J 10 7 4 3 W               E  A 5 
 Q J   10 8 3 
 10 5 S  9 4 
  Q 9  
  9 8 2  
  A 9  
  A K Q 8 7 3  

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands B. 3 by W, 8 tricks C. 4 by N, 9 tricks D. Weighted score  
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Question 6. 
S/None  A K J 9 4  W N E S 

   3 
pass 4NT* pass 5* 
pass 6 all pass…  

 
4NT – RKCB 
5: North→East: 1/4, South→West: 0/3 

 

Screens  A K 9  
  Q 8 5  
  A 10  
 Q 10 8 7 3 N  5 2 
 Q 10 7 4 W               E  J 5 
 K 6  A 9 
 Q 9 S  J 7 6 5 4 3 2 
  6  
  8 6 3 2  
  J 10 7 4 3 2  
  K 8  

West led 7 to the Ace. A spade ruffed and 10 ducked by both defenders. In the next diamond trick 
K met A. West was squeezed in majors and the contract was made. 

East called the TD and explained that he ducked the first diamond trick to see a signal from his partner. 
He knew from bidding that South had K. The TD established that, according to the system, 5 shows 1 or 4 
key cards. 

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands. No misinformation. 
B. Score stands. There was misinformation, but a bad result was a consequence of the poor play. 
C. Split score (6, 11 and 12 tricks). Misinformation and serious error. 
D. Weighted score (6, 11 and 12 tricks). Misinformation, but it is still possible the contract was made. 
E. Adjust score, 6, 11 tricks. Misinformation. 
F. 60%/40%. The TD is not sure what the correct ruling is. 

Question 7.  
W/EW  10 9 7 2  Teams. 

W N E S 
1 pass 3 pass 

…3NT pass 5 pass 
6 All pass   

 

3 – splinter 
3NT – after a long hesitation 

Result: 6, 13 tricks 

NS called the TD and complained about reaching the 
slam after the slow 3NT. 

East explained that with this hand, in teams, a suit 
contract is always better than 3NT. 

  9 7 6 5  
  6 4  
  K Q 7  
 A K 8 6 N  4 
 J 8 4 W                  E  A Q 
 K Q 10 3 2  A J 8 7 
 A S  J 10 9 8 4 3 
  Q J 5 3  
  K 10 3 2  
  9 5  
  6 5 2  

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands B. 3NT, 10 tricks C. 5, 13 tricks D. Weighted score  
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Question 8.  
  10 8 6 3  Teams, North plays 4 after uncontested bidding. 

He takes Q lead with the Ace and plays 10 to the 
Queen. A diamond switch was taken by the King and 
the play of a small spade to the Jack revealed the 
trump's position.  

Declarer played a small club and finessed with 7. 

  A Q 8 7  
  A K  
  A K 7  
 Q N  A 9 5 2 
 J 10 6 4 2 W                  E  K 5 3 
 8 5 4 2  Q J 9 3 
 Q 5 2 S  4 3 
  K J 7 4  
  9  
  10 7 6  
  J 10 9 8 6  

The ending: 

  8 6  Now he plays A and when both defenders follow, 
plays K and claims: “You take only two trump tricks – 
the Ace and a ruff”. 

East objects, because he doesn’t have to ruff. TD! 

How many tricks will declarer take? 
A. 10 tricks B. 9 tricks 

  A Q 8 7  
  --  
  A K  
 -- N  A 9 
 J 10 6 4 2 W                  E  K 5 3 
 8 5  J 9 
 Q 5 S  4 
  K 7  
  9  
  10  
  J 10 9 8  

Question 9. 
  --  South plays 4 and already took 6 tricks. 

As the play was slow and in the auction NS agreed both 
major suits, declarer is convinced he plays a heart contract. 
Also defenders seem to be tired… 

In 5-card ending (on the left) declarer plays QJ10 and 
“discards” spades from hand. Now he plays 8 and, when 
East plays 9, claims: “I take two trumps, 11 tricks”. 

At that moment everyone realizes what happened and calls 
the TD. 

How many tricks will the TD give to declarer? 
A. 11 tricks B. 10 tricks C. 9 tricks 

  --  
  Q J 10 8 6  
  --  
 -- N  -- 
 -- W               E  9 
 9 5 4 3  2 
 9 S  8 7 4 
  J 8 6  
  10 4  
  --  
  --  
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Question 10. 
S/EW  J 4  W N E S 

   1 
2 2 3 pass 

pass 3 All pass  
 
2 – non forcing 

Lead 5. Declarer asked for J, but dummy played 2. It 
was not noticed by players. West took the trick with the 
Queen and the play continued. 

J to Q, A, a spade to the Ace, a club ruffed and a heart 
to the King. West played Q. Declarer took it with the Ace 
and played K covered with the Ace and ruffed. 

  A Q 8 7 6 3  
  9 8 5 3  
  9  
 2 N  Q 10 9 8 6 
 K J 10 W               E  9 4 
 Q J 10 4  K 7 2 
 A Q 8 7 6 S  10 5 4 
  A K 7 5 3  
  5 2  
  A 6  
  K J 3 2  

In the ending: 
  J  Declarer entered dummy with K to played J. Now West 

called the TD, because J had been already played in the 
first trick. 

What’s your ruling? 
A. 8 tricks, J was played in trick 1. 
B. 9 tricks, J was not played in trick 1. 
C. Split score 

  8  
  9 8 5  
  --  
 -- N  Q 10 9 8 
 -- W               E  -- 
 J 10 4  K 
 8 7 S  -- 
  K 7 5  
  --  
  6  
  J  

Question 11. 
S/EW  3 2  W N E S 

   1NT 
pass …pass …pass  

 
West leads 7. When East see dummy, calls the TD. East 
feels misled by North’s hesitation before passing. East 
claims he would normally re-open the bidding, but he was 
sure North-South would find a better contract. 

North explains he needed to plan his bidding and draws 
attention to the fact that also East thought before passing. 

South took 6 tricks. 

  9 8 2  
  K 10 9 7  
  10 9 6 4  
 Q 7 6 N  K J 10 5 4 
 A K 5 W               E  Q 10 6 3 
 J 6 5 2  8 
 Q 7 2 S  K 5 3 
  A 9 8  
  J 7 4  
  A Q 4 3  
  A J 8  

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands. East draws conclusions from North’s pass at his own risk. 
B. 1NT by S, 7 or 8 tricks. The spade lead was suggested by East's hesitation before his pass. 
C. Weighted score based on part scores in majors for EW. East was illegally misled by North.  
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Question 12. 
N/NS  K J 9 8 7 6 5 W N E S 

 1 pass 2A 
2 pass pass 4 
5 5 pass 5 

pass 6 7 dbl* 
pass 7 All pass  

2 – 2/1, semi natural 

When East bid 7, South started thinking. No longer than 
3-4 seconds later North made a comment: “Go ahead, 
whatever you do, I bid 7”. 

  A 6  
  --  
  A K 8 2  
 10 N  4 2 
 K J 8 5 4 3 W               E  10 9 
 Q 8 7 6 4  K J 10 9 2 
 Q S  7 5 4 3 
  A Q 3  
  Q 7 2  
  A 5 3  
  J 10 9 6  

The TD was called and after collecting facts, asked to continue the play. South doubled and North bid 7, as 
he had said. The slam was won, but 7x was a good sacrifice. 

If the TD decides to poll players, he will learn that South has an automatic pass over 7 showing 1st class 
control and after a forcing pass North bids 7, no logical alternative. However, after 7 doubled, four out 
of six players passed with North’s hand. 

12.1. What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands, 7 by North, 13 tricks 
B. Change to 7x by West, 9 tricks 
C. 60%/40% 

12.2. Regardless of what your ruling is, what do you think about North’s behavior? 
A. He did a very good job trying to protect his partner against transferring UI. 
B. That’s OK. Nothing good, nothing bad. 
C. He deserves a penalty. He is not supposed to make such comments during the bidding. 

Question 13. 
  Q 10 6  South plays 3NT and has already taken 7 tricks. Declarer 

knows the distribution of the remaining cards. 

In the ending (on the left) declarer plays a diamond from 
dummy and claims: “After two diamond tricks you’re end-
played”. East-West agreed the 3NT was made. The score 
was entered to a bridgemate. 

Sometime later West asks: “What would happen if my 
partner ducks a diamond?” 

What will the TD rule if EW finds the winning defense… 

  --  
  4  
  --  
 -- N  J 2 
 10 W               E  -- 
 --  K 7 
 J 9 2 S  -- 
  --  
  --  
  Q  
  10 8 7  

13.1. …before they starts bidding in the next board at the same table? 9 tricks 8 tricks 

13.2. …two rounds later before the end of the tournament? 9 tricks 8 tricks 
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Question 14. 
N/EW  6 3 W N E S 

 pass pass 2 
dbl 4 pass pass 

…6 pass …7 All pass 

2 – 5+-5+ minor 
6 – after 2-minute hesitation 
7 – faster, but also slow 

Result: 13 tricks 

 

 

  9 7 6 5  
  J 5 4 3  
  10 6 3  
 A K Q 10 9 7 5 N  J 8 2 
 A 8 W               E  Q 10 
 K 10  A Q 8 7 6 
 A K S  J 5 4 
  4  
  K J 4 3 2  
  9 2  
  Q 9 8 7 2  

After the play, North-Souths called the TD because they didn’t like their opponents reaching the grand slam 
after a hesitation. 

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands B. Adjust to 6 C. Weighted score 
 

Question 15. 
W/EW  4 3 Pairs 

W N E S 
2 pass 2 2 
3 pass pass 3 
4 pass pass 4 
dbl All pass   

 

   10 9 3  
  10 7 5 3  
  K J 7 4  
 A N  8 6 2 
 A K Q 7 6 5 4 W               E  2 
 K 8 6  A Q J 2 
 9 6 S  Q 10 8 5 2 
  K Q J 10 9 7 5 
  J 8  
  9 4  
  A 3  

2 was explained as multi and when South asked about 3, East said that it probably showed a good weak 
two maybe with 7 hearts. 

4x went two off and NS called the TD to tell that the explanation given did not fit with West’s hand. TD! 

What is your ruling? 
A. Score stands 
B. Adjust to 3 by W, 12 tricks 
C. Adjust to 3 by S, 8 tricks 
D. 60%/40% 
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Question 16. 
E/NS  10 4 3 2 W N E S 

  pass pass 
pass 1 1 dbl 
2 3 pass 4 

pass 5 All pass  

East leads 6. West takes with the Ace and switches to a 
diamond. Declarer takes with A and plays AKQ discarding 
a diamond from dummy. In the next trick he plays Q to the 
King and… 

 

  A 2  
  A 2  
  A K Q 10 2  
 A 9 8 N  K J 7 6 
 J 4 3 W               E  10 9 7 6 
 J 5 4 3  K 10 9 
 8 6 5 S  4 3 
  Q 5  
  K Q 8 5  
  Q 8 7 6  
  J 9 7  

… in the ending: 
  10 4 East plays 10, South 8 and West starts thinking. After a 

few seconds, South shows his hand and says: “I have all high 
trumps, 11 tricks.” 

East calls the TD and says that after such a claim, declarer 
loses: 10-8-5-10, a spade ruffed high, a diamond 
ruffed high, and again a spade and a diamond ruffed high 
promotes a trump trick… 

 

 

  --  
  --  
  A K Q 10 2  
 9 N  J 7 
 -- W               E  10 
 J 5 4  K 10 
 8 6 5 S  4 3 
  --  
  8  
  Q 8 7  
  J 9 7  

... as shown below: 
  -- How many tricks will declarer take? 

A. 11 tricks B. 10 tricks 

 

  --  
  --  
  A 2  
-- N  -- 
 -- W               E  -- 
 --  --- 
 8 6 S  4 3 
  --  
  --  
  Q  
  7  
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Question 17. 
S/NS  9 4 3 Pairs. 

W N E S 
   pass 

1 pass 1 pass 
2 pass 3 pass 
3 pass 4 pass 
4NT pass 5 pass 
5 pass 6 All pass 

After the 5 bid South asked about its meaning and West 
replied that it showed 0 or 3 key cards. 

  9 5 2  
  8 7 4 2  
  A 10 5  
 A N  K J 10 6 5 
 K Q 10 7 W               E  A 8 6 4 
 K J 5  10 
 K J 9 6 4 S  Q 3 2 
  Q 8 7 2  
  J 3  
  A Q 9 6 3  
  8 7  

When dummy came down after 2 lead, the TD was called and told about the explanation. The TD instructed 
to play the hand and came back later. The contract went one down. 

17.1. What will the TD decide? 
A. Score stands 
B. Adjust the score 

17.2. Is there any reason to give a penalty? 
A. No, EW were self-inflicted, that’s enough 
B. Penalty for North-South 
C. Penalty for East-West 
D. Penalty for both pairs 

 

Question 18. 

This board was played in Pairs. 

At the table with pairs 12-6, the TD 
adjusted the score: changed 3 to 
the weighted score: 

• 1 out of 5, 2E, 8 tricks 
• 2 out of 5, 2E, 7 tricks 
• 2 out of 5, 2E, 6 tricks 

Calculate the result in match 
points and per cent for: 

• pairs 12 and 6 
• pair 7 
• pair 20 

 NS EW C D L T NS EW 
 22 17 3 S K +1 130  
 16 20 2 E 6 =  110 
 2 15 4 S 3 = 130  
 19 21 1BA E 10 +2  150 
 7 14 2 W 6 -2 100  
 10 13 2 E 7 -2 100  
 18 9 1BA E D +1  120 
 11 1 2 E 8 -1 50  
 12 6 3 S K +1 130  
 5 4 2 W 6 -2 100  
 8 3 2 E 8 -1 50  
         

 

  


