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4th EBL TOURNAMENT DIRECTORS COURSE 
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Tabiano di Salsomaggiore Terme, Italy 
 

 
   Final Examination EBL TD Course September 2001 
 
Give a clear and short answer. Mention the applicable law.  
The event is teams and the level is high, unless mentioned otherwise.  
Available time 2 hours and 30 minutes. If relevant give the law you base your 
decision on.  
 
1  
W/EW  ♠QJ92 
  ♥A962 
  ♦9 
  ♣6543 
♠1053    K7 
♥10    J754 
♦AKJ862   Q1073 
♣AK10    872 
  ♠A864 
  ♥KQ83 
  ♦54 
  ♣QJ9 
 
W N E S 
1♦ pass 1♥ pass 
2♦ pass 3♦ pass 
3♠ X 3NT pass 
4♦ pass pass pass 
 
West has made 10 tricks after which North calls the TD and tells him that East had alerted the 
3♠-bid and on questioning had told NS that he did not know what it meant. They don’t like what 
happened and ask for a ruling.  

 
 
2        matchpoints. 

Board 7 ♠ QJ8 
S/All ♥ QJ 
 ♦ AK876 



 2

 ♣ 1082 
 
♠ A10542    97 
♥ 96   10753   
♦ 95   J32 
♣10753   K964 
 
 ♠ K63 
 ♥ AK842 
 ♦ Q104 
 ♣ AQ 
 
 
West North East South 
- - - 1♣1) 
1♦2) double pass3) 1♥ 
pass 3NT pass pass 
pass 
 
1) strong artificial 
2) showing spades, could be weak 
3) showing at least five diamonds 
 
East led the ♠9, won by the Jack. Now North played the ♦8, finessing and losing to ♦9. 
North made eleven tricks this way. North calls the TD. 
 
When asked East will say: ‘How can I bid 1♠ with such a weak hand? I hoped that South 
couldn't pass 1♦ doubled.’. 
What decision should the TD take? 
 
3  
Board 2  ♠5 
E/NS  ♥642 
  ♦A6 
  ♣AKJ9742 
♠J7    Q842 
♥KJ987   AQ105 
♦97    J1084 
♣Q863    10 
  ♠AK10963 
  ♥3 
  ♦KQ532 
  ♣5 
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W N E S 
  P 1♠ 
p 2♣ p 2♦ 
p 2♥ p 3♦ 
p 3♥ X 3♠ 
p      …3NT p 4♠ 
p p p 
 
EW do reserve their rights after the hesitation by North before bidding 3NT and South bidding  
4♠. After the play in which south made 11 tricks they call the TD. What should he decide?  
 
 
4  
South is declarer in 3♠:  
 
E/NS  ♠Q109 
  ♥-- 
  ♦AJ852 
  ♣108732 
♠8763    52 
♥A107    J95432 
♦KQ1063   9 
♣Q    AJ95 
  ♠AKJ4 
  ♥KQ86 
  ♦74 
  ♣K64 
 
Opening lead ♦K for the Ace, then ♣2 from dummy for east’s Ace. East plays the ♥3 for Q, A 
and ♠9. Dummy plays ♠Q and ♠10 which is overtaken in South. South clears the trumps (East 
playing hearts) and then plays the ♦7 for the Q (East ♣5). West now plays the ♥10 for the K in 
South.  
The position then is: 
  ♠-- 
  ♥-- 

♦J2 
♣108 

♠--    -- 
♥7    J9 
♦1063    -- 
♣--    J9 
  ♠-- 
  ♥86 
  ♦-- 
  ♣K6 
South plays the ♥8, west the ♥7 and while playing the ♦2 from dummy south claims 2 tricks 
without a further statement. East calls the TD telling that south might guess the position in clubs 
wrongly.   
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5  
W/--  ♠QJ92 
  ♥65 
  ♦AQ8 
  ♣K863 
♠754    K10 
♥Q1098   KJ73 
♦J53    10742 
♣J109    A75 
  ♠A863 
  ♥A42 
  ♦K96 
  ♣Q42 
 
W N E S 
Pass 1♣ pass 1♠ 
Pass 2♠ pass 4♠ 
All pass 
 
The tricks played are: 
♣J, 3, 7, Q 
♦6, 3, A, 2 
♠Q, K, A, 4 
♠3, 5, 9, 10 
 
At this moment south says: ‘ I didn’t say anything’ and it appears that dummy played the 9 
without any instruction from his partner. South calls the TD and after instruction being given 
plays the ♠J and makes 10 tricks. If asked for a ruling, what decision should be taken?  
 
 
6  
E/NS  ♠K763 
  ♥6 
  ♦-- 
  ♣-- 
♠QJ4    8 
♥105    K73 
♦--    -- 
♣--    5 
  ♠A5 
  ♥AQ 
  ♦7 
  ♣-- 
 
South is declarer in 3NT and needs all 5 remaining tricks to win his contract.  
For EW south’s holding is quite clear; south doesn’t know where the ♥K is and might hope for a 
2 – 2 split in spades. He won the last trick in his hand and plays the free diamond on which west 
starts thinking for a long time before playing the ♥10. After cashing ♠A and K declarer cashes 
the ♥A and is one off. He calls the TD telling him that west did hesitate without any reason. West 
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says that he needed some time to decide which heart would be best to deceive declarer. What 
decision should the TD take?  
 
7    
N/NS  ♠652   

♥96 
  ♦9732 
  ♣J976 
♠QJ10    ♠K873 
♥K104    ♥7 
♦QJ64    ♦AK105 
♣Q85    ♣A1032 
  ♠A94 
  ♥AQJ8532 
  ♦8 
  ♣K4 
 
W N E S  (played with screens) 
 Pass 1♦ X   
3NT all pass 
 
North leads the ♥9 and declarer is 3 off. West called the TD then and told him that south thought 
quite long (estimated as one minute) before making his final pass. South agreed that he hesitated. 
According to West this could have influenced the lead chosen by North. North told not to have 
noticed the hesitation. East said he had noticed it. What should the TD decision be? 
 
 
8 
E/EW  ♠K742 
  ♥654 

♦J1032 
   ♣65 
 
  ♠A3 
  ♥108 
  ♦AK9854 
  ♣AQ8 
 
South is declarer in 5♦ after an opening bid of 1♥ by East. 
The lead is ♥7, won by east with the J who continues the ♥Q on which West plays the ♥3 (could 
be from doubleton). Now declarer claims, stating: ‘I finesse the ♣K, but if West has all 3 
diamonds I am one off.’ 
Now East calls the TD and tells him that this claim is totally unclear about declarer’s continuation 
if he himself  would play another heart which he had planned to do.     
 

a) What decision should the TD take knowing that west has another heart and the 
singleton ♦Q?  

b) And what if west has ♦Qx?  
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9      
♠ AQ7 
♥ AK 
♦ AQJ94 
♣ J102 
 

♠ K94    ♠ J8653 
♥ QJ1073   ♥ 962 
♦ 76    ♦ K832 
♣ Q73    ♣ 4 

 
♠ 102 
♥ 854 
♦ 105 
♣ AK9865 
 

  N   S 
  1♦   1NT 
  3NT   P 
 
  West leads ♥Q, K, 2 ,5 . 
  Trick 2:  ♣J , 4 , very long hesitation … K , 3 
  Trick 3:  ♣5 , 7 !!! , 10, ♦3 
  Result : 12 tricks for South . 
 
  West calls the TD . South , not a very strong player said that he suddenly realized 
that it would be wrong to cash the ♣K and  ♣A , in case the clubs were divided 3-1.  
 
 
10 
W/NS  ♠AK2 
  ♥AKQJ73 
  ♦63 
  ♣Q3 
♠Q986    543 
♥6    1092 
♦AK1084   QJ2 
♣A64    9852 
  ♠J107 

♥854 
♦975 
♣KJ107 
 

W N  E S 
1♦ stop 2♥  pass pass 
X 4♥  pass  pass 

 pass 
Before doubling West inquires about the strength of the 2♥-bid and south tells him 
‘intermediate’.  
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North makes 10 tricks but west wants to know what the agreement is, since the north hand is 
much stronger than explained.  
 

a) NS indeed play intermediate, but North thought to open the bidding semi-forcing 
b) NS play intermediate non-vulnerable and strong vulnerable. 

 
What decision does the TD take in both cases?  
 
 
11  
W/NS  ♠AJ7 
  ♥KQ83 
  ♦AJ754 
  ♣8 
♠1063    Q82 
♥J74    92 
♦Q10    K682 
♣KQ1094   J632 
  ♠K954 

♥A1065 
♦93 
♣A75 
 

W N E S 
  pass 
 
East passes out of turn and the TD is called. South doesn’t accept this call out of turn.  
The auction continues: 
 
1♥ 2♦ pass 2NT 
pass 3NT all pass 
 
After a club lead and a spade finesse this contract is one off. South calls the TD and complains 
about the 1♥-bid by West after the pass out of turn from East. He considers this call as 
unacceptable, being a kind of protected psyche.  
There are no special regulations about protected psyches. What decision should the TD make?  
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12   
♠QJ97 

S/--  ♥J1063 
  ♦102 
  ♣764 
♠AK842   106 
♥Q4    AK87 
♦854    AKQ9 
♣1053    J92 
  ♠53 
  ♥952 
  ♦J763 
  ♣AKQ8 
 
W N E S 
   pass 
pass pass 1♣ 2♣ 
X pass 2NT pass 
3NT pass pass pass 
 
South’s 2♣ is explained as natural. South wins the first 2 tricks with A,K of clubs and when 
playing the ♣Q East says: ‘Ok, you get your club tricks’ and the players put their cards in the 
board. Checking the results at the end of the session it appears that South has the contract  written 
as made and East as one off, thinking South to have 5 clubs. Now East calls the TD and tells him 
that he always will make his contract knowing south to have only 4 cards. TD decision.  
 
 
13  
  ♦7 
  ♣74 
♦4 
♣J8    ♣A65 
  ♣KQ10 
 
South is declarer and won the last trick (his seventh) in his hand. He doesn’t know the club 
position, but the defenders have reason to assume that he holds KQ of clubs. He plays the ♣K 
won by East who starts thinking for some time and then plays the ♣5, south finesses loosing the 
trick to West.  He calls the TD, complaining about the long hesitation from East who has no 
reason at all to think about the card to play. East apologizes and explains that he realized to have 
played badly by taking the ♣K, therewith giving away the position of the ♣J if declarer doesn’t 
hold KQJ. That was what he was thinking about. With AJx he never would have played the ace of 
course.  
TD decision.  
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14 
  ♠Q73 
  ♥KQ65 
  ♦K6 
  ♣A873 
♠A    J52 
♥9874    J103 
♦A109832   5 
♣Q4    J109652 
  ♠K109864 
  ♥A2 
  ♦QJ74 
  ♣K 
 
South is declarer in 3NT. After the end of play West summons the TD and tells the following: 
He led the ♦10 for the J. Declarer played a small spade for his ace and he cashed ♦A and played 
the ♦9. Declarer played a small club in dummy and the ♣K himself in such a way that everyone 
assumed he won the trick. So declarer led to trick 5 with a small spade and won all remaining 
tricks: 5 spades, ♦Q, ♥A and in dummy ♥K and ♣A. All players count 11 tricks for declarer. 
What result should the TD decide to?  
 
 
15  
S/All  ♠A8 
  ♥K76 
  ♦K109542 
  ♣Q3 
♠Q10542   J963 
♥J985    A1042 
♦8    A73 
♣762    104 
  ♠K7 
  ♥Q3 
  ♦QJ6 
  ♣AKJ985 
 
W N E S 
   1♣ 
pass 2♦ pass 3NT 
all pass 
 
The TD was called after the 2♦-bid. Just after making this call North acted frightened. The TD 
was called. According to their agreements 2♦ shows a strong suit with at least 16 points. The TD 
has explained to South that he is not allowed to use this unauthorized information, whatever it 
might mean. Is there any reason for the TD to consider an adjusted score?. South makes 11 tricks 
and explains that he showed extra strength by bidding 3NT in stead of 2NT.  
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16 
W/all  ♠A872 
  ♥Q1098 
  ♦J 
  ♣K832 
♠J6    -- 
♥K43    AJ762 
♦8752    Q106 
♣QJ64    A10975 
  ♠KQ109543 
  ♥5 
  ♦AK943 
  ♣-- 
 
W N E S 
pass pass 1♥ 4♠ 
pass   ...pass 5♣ 5♦ 
5♥ 5♠ pass 6♠ 
all pass 
 
South makes 12 tricks and East then calls the TD telling him that North did hesitate for at least 20 
seconds before passing 4♠. North admits he thought for a while, though not 20 seconds. What 
decision should the TD make? 
 
 
17  
N/EW  ♠97 
  ♥A86 
  ♦62 
  ♣AJ9874 
♠AK6    J542 
♥73    QJ9542 
♦K9874   QJ5 
♣KQ10    -- 
  ♠Q1083 
  ♥K10 
  ♦A103 
  ♣6532 
 
 
 
 
W N E S 
 pass pass pass 
1NT 2♣ pass 2♠ 
pass pass X pass 
pass 3♣ 3♥   all pass 
 
South alerted the 2♣-bid and explained it as both majors. East makes 10 tricks.  
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After the play East calls the TD and tells him that with the right information they will reach 4♥. 
 
What decision should the TD make if 
 

a) South gave the right explanation 
b) South gave the wrong explanation, 2♣ being natural.  

 
 
18 
W/all  ♠52 
  ♥J942 
  ♦962 
  ♣KJ93 
♠Q1097   KJ43 
♥K10873   AQ5 
♦A1074   KQ 
♣--    10652 
  ♠A86 
  ♥6 
  ♦J853 
  ♣AQ874 
 
W N E S 
Pass pass 1NT 2NT 
X 3♣      ...pass pass 
4♥ all pass 
 
West makes 11 tricks but NS have problems with his 4♥-bid after the hesitation from east before 
passing 3♣. East admits he considered to double 3♣. What does the TD decide?   
 
 
19 
Matchpoints, 9 tables.  
On board 7 the frequencies are:  NS-score frequency 

100 3 
-120       2 
-140       2 
-620       2 

 
After the match the TD gives an adjusted score at one table, pair 6 NS and 9 EW. 
a) Pair 6 keeps the score of – 620 (which has been entered on the result sheet) and pair 9 

gets a score of –100 (100 to NS).  
Give their results in matchpoints.       

b) Pair 9 gets a weighted score: one third of  +620 and two thirds of –100. What 
matchpoints does this pair get?  

 
THE END 


