European Bridge League

Administering the Mind Sport BRIDGE in Europe

2014 Champions' Cup Winners

The 13th edition of the Champion’s Cup was played from November 13th to 15th at the headquarters of the FIGB in Milan, Italy. Based on popular request the qualification stage for the first time consisted of a full round-robin between all twelve teams. 

In spite of being over 20 IMPs down at halftime, Turin’s GS Allegra once again emerged victorious after the second segment of the final. They thus register their fourth consecutive (!) win in this prestigious event, and their fifth overall, still one short of Angelini’s record six wins.

Their opponents, Germany’s Bamberger Reiter, one of the two teams from outside Italy to ever have won the event, did well in most of the final until a well-timed Madala psychic, halfway the second segment, proved too difficult. However, they too can be proud of themselves: just have a look at their fine slam just before the end of the match. Our sincere congratulations therefore go to both these teams.

The play-off for the bronze was rather easily won by Schaltz, the Danish representatives. They never looked in danger against their French opponents, the Zaleski team.

In the groups B and C, Monaco and Ruch SA AZS Wrocław were the eventual winners.

Based on the result of the most recent European Team Championship in the Open series the participants were the National Champion Clubs/Teams from the following NBOs:                     

Bulgaria, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Monaco, Norway, Poland and Sweden                            

in addition to the defending champions. Click here to see the team rosters.

There were two major changes in the format compared to previous years, undertaken after listening to the wishes of the players themselves. (1) Rather than dividing the field, for qualifying purposes, into two groups of six teams each there will be a full round-robin of 10-board matches between all twelve teams. (2) Rather than playing for two full days (Friday and Saturday) plus two half days (Thursday and Sunday) it will be played over three full days, Thursday – Saturday. Taken together these changes will amount to increased sporting fairness and allow all participants to return home on Sunday.


The programme will be:

9:50 Opening
10:00-11:30 Round 1
11:50-13:20 Round 2
13:20-14:30 Lunch
14:30-16:00 Round 3
16:20-17:50 Round 4
18:10-19:40 Round 5
20:00-21:30 Round 6
10:00-11:30 Round 7
11:50-13:20 Round 8
13:20-14:30 Lunch
14:30-16:00 Round 9
16:20-17:50 Round 10
18:10-19:40 Round 11
09:30-11:50 Semi-Final 1
12:10-14:30 Semi-Final 2
14:30-15:30 Lunch
15:30-17:50 Final 1
18:10-20:30 Final 2
21:00 Closing

For the knock-out phase the teams will be divided into 3 groups according to their ranking at the end of the round-robin.

Teams 1 to 4 form Group A. For the Semi-Finals, 1 choses its opponent between 3 and 4.                                        

Teams 5 to 8 form Group B. For the Semi-Finals, 5 choses its opponent between 7 and 8.

Teams 9 to 12 form Group C. For the Semi-Finals, 9 choses its opponent between 11 and 12.

Within each group the winners of the Semi-Finals meet as do the losers, allowing a complete ranking from 1 to 12.


1st Team - 5,000 € - EBL Gold Medal - Trophy

2nd Team - 3,000 € - Silver Medal

3rd Team - 2,000 € - Bronze Medal

4th Team - 1,500 €

5th Team - 1,000 €

9th Team - 600 €

The winning Team also received the title of European Champion Club as well as the right to participate in the next edition of the Cup.

Venue Information

The venue is not far from the town center. The quickest way to reach it from Malpensa airport is taking the direct train or one of the many busesavailable in front of the airport to Cadorna railway station. Once there you can pick up a taxi to Via Giorgio Washington, because it is at short distance.

Milan map